30 thoughts on “Marlee Matlin on Ellen 3/21- Subtitled

  1. Very interesting clip. The interpreter is definitely an asset to Marlee. She signed, ‘But you know what? I’m having a good time’ but according to the captions, the interpreter said, ‘But it’s a great show.’

    Quite different than what she signed.

    Like

  2. Is that where he says “at the same time It’s a great show and fun be on”?

    He actually said “at the same time it’s a great show and fun, a fun show to be on”. I didn’t know if that was stuttering, so I didn’t include it in the first edit.

    Marlee also made some faces at the same time that I did not understand – wondering if she caught that mistake in the studio monitor?

    Like

  3. Yea, that’s the spot, Bill.

    And nah, her facial expressions is her just being herself. 🙂 It’s kinda like how you voice things.. you keep your face blank, but your voice says it all. It’s the same way with ASL. Your facial expression is your tone.

    Like

  4. Iam so glad Ellen gave Marlee matlin opporunity to have a interview on Ellen show. Marlee seem have a good attitude response that she said she had a good time.

    Like

  5. Marlee’s really an inspiration to all of us, to show everyone we all can do almost anything…she’s OUR key with hearing impaired. I recalled my mom telling me, “What she can, you can do it”…..exactly what Marlee’s doing right now. Applaud to Marlee all the way…..thumbs up, Marlee !!!!

    Like

  6. I am so PROUD of her. I know Deaf people can dance feel the vibration on the floor. I, myself, love to dance and dance. I agree with their messages.
    Please vote for her!

    Like

  7. Deaf Pundit and Bill,

    I have seen her interpreter for many years. (Darker brown hair.) Maybe he is her best interpreter.

    Like

  8. Thanks for captioning and sharing this clip with us! I kinda wish Ellen didn’t emphasize so much the fact that “it’s sooo amazing that Marlee’s deaf and yet she can dance” — but at the same time, it IS amazing that Marlee’s got so much rhythm and sync with Fabian.

    Like

  9. Well, I think it’s because we (hearing Americans) think that dancing and music are related – as if dancing was a reaction to music. It can be, but it does not need to be. Think of African or American Indian tribes, dancing to a beat, or to chanting. Dancing is a physical and visual way to express emotion or tell a story – it’s much more than syncopated movement to music – machines can do that. And Deaf people are visual and expressive!

    Like

  10. I found the interview most interesting and I know Marlee is doing all of us a great favor by going on as Marlee, the talented woman, who happens to be Deaf, in the face of the interview questions, which by their nature, imply how amazing it is, rather than showing how standard it can be……that is to say, it highlights, most clearly, how people’s “attitudes” are the greatest barriers, including those that proclaim their amazement.

    I am glad that Marlee forbears these things, and hope she continues to push for equal presence in the community, and diversity as a natural medium, for all talented, and deserving, hardworking peoples, and for all people with hearing loss, who live with in whatever manner works best for them. After all, “We must be the change we wish to see in the World” Mahatma Ghandi
    Kat

    Like

  11. Actress Marlee Maltin is surely HOT – incredibly gorgeous and graceful. Her hips seems get little bigger due to her childbirth of three kids. MM is still amazingly hot!

    MM and her partner’s dance footwork need some work and spicy.

    I am kinda disgusted at Ellen DeGenres’ paternalistic and ignorant attitude toward MM and the rest of deaf people like never seen deaf people able to dance or whatever she have in mind.

    Many gay community at large really do not find much fanfare with Ellen for her own hyprocrisy within the GLBT issues. Actor Harvey Feinstein made good points about Ellen De Genres what she have not done much for the GLBT community. DeGenres had to out herself to save her former television sitcom show for the purpose of television ratings. Duh? That shown the real idiocy within Ellen DeGenres herself as a human being.

    For God’s sake, where Ellen DeGenres have been with the walk of life – deaf people. She need to have more DEAF guests to educate that questionable host and the rest of ignorant people out there.

    I really love MM’s spunky and playful personality on the Ellen De Genres! I entirely lose my personal respect for Ellen DeGenres as a human being and tv personality and lez until she get more and more deaf guests on her show.

    Robert L. Mason (RLM)
    RLMDEAF blog

    Like

  12. W e are proud of Marlee Mstin that she can dance with the vibrate and feel it ..deaf can do it ,,,show them how Deaf can do with different dances and the teachers did taught us and others at deaf school while graduation day ,, because I have inteheirt deaf families now .. My grandaughters go for dance class every thursday,, IM proud of them

    Pls vote for Marlee Matin and her partner on Dancing the stars

    Like

  13. Omg! I found out Marlee was on Ellen… and I don’t get Ellen in Peru, so I googled and came up with your site!! Thanks for posting the video! ^^

    Marlee is so awesome, non?

    Like

  14. I am glad that thank for posting the video Marlee and Fabian cuz I missed on TV show Ellen, that is why! They are great dancer.

    Like

  15. Now after this, I now recommend Marlee to Run for Office either as a Governor or President of United States in the future!

    Hillary has no reputation to run for Presidency, no way!

    I met Marlee and her long time interpretet, Bill back in 1992 while they were here in Portland filming “Hear No Evil” I feel Marlee all the time even tho I don’t even think of her!

    Regards, Bruce B. (Deaf Pilot)

    Like

  16. I’m proud of Marlee all the way….thumbs up, Marlee !!!! She can dance. Of course deaf people can dance because hearing people think that deaf people can’t hear and can’t dance ?

    Like

  17. I am the mother of a deaf son and daughter in law. I taught my son to dance when he was 4 years old by feeling the beat of the music. I taught him to feel movement – trucks, buses, purring cats, barking dogs, etc. . Hearing people feel the same things the deaf feel. They just don’t realize it because they HEAR it. Now I teach my granddaughter who is hearing, to feel the movement of the world, instead of just listening to it.
    I was so happy when Marlee was chosen for Dancing With The Stars. Everyone keep voting for her, regardless if the dance is good or not so good. I want to see her WIN. It will be a win for deaf people everywhere!

    Like

  18. We are so happy to see some goodness come out of dwts, it has wonderful people on the show this season like Marlee, Kristi, Priscilla, Shannon, Marissa, Jason that spend their time helping others through many projects. It’s refreshing that these projects will be publicized more because of their appearances, and they are doing it for OTHERS not themself….rare in this day and time. God Bless them and use them where He needs to….

    Like

  19. I am glad for anyone like her can do anything to show the world that deaf people can. However, I don’t meant to disrespect Marlee’ s choice of interpreter since she’s a woman and I do think she needs to have a woman as her interpreter to be her voice as female instead of male. Often I see her signing and I hear man’ s voice, I found that distrubing.. Its almost like you are watching a person as transexual or transgender. I don’t know if anyone out there would agree with me on this one or not. I do hope in the future Marlee can get a female interpreter that would fit her well with it….Good Luck Marlee M with a dance show!

    Like

  20. Hey Marlee,

    Well done, there will be many new movie opportunties for you in the ahead times, being that you’re a mother of 4, thats incredible! Remember the TV series, Eight’s Enough? Why not have you, Marlee, star in “Four’s Enough” with all of your 4 kids in the film including your husband, Kevin?! Just a suggestion or that might be too much for the family in film and real lives altogether.

    Take care buddy,
    Bruce Brennan, now a automobile wheel center cap seller on ebay as my early “retirement” spare time that keeps me occuppied.

    Like

Comments are closed.